Of Free Will and Redemption

Ok, now before we get our panties in a twist before we get to the end of this post let me say this now. I love every one. Despite of race, color, ethnicity, creed, sexual orientation, or gender. I LOVE people. And not just in a “i’m saying I love people because its what I’m supposed to do” way. I care deeply about all people. Past what some one does, to the heart of who they are, that’s what I care about. Now, know my intention in what I’m going to say here is not bashing any one group of people. I am picking a culture to use as an example for one reason only, because we’ve all heard this reason being given.

And now on to what is either going to make you hate me, or make you love me because you are going to misconstrue my words (its ok, we all pick and choose what we read and hear to fit our beliefs which is another point I want to touch on.)

One of the things I HATE to hear people say is “I can’t help it. I was born this way”. Well, I’m calling bullshit.

There are a couple of things that I was born as. I was born as a female, to a family with one other child. I had hair, and fingers and toes. I had (and still have) bum ears. I was born into sin.

I am still female, I still have only one brother, and my mother, and my father. I still have all of my fingers and my toes by the grace of God. I still have bum ears. I still sin.

I am a Christian. And one of the things that delights me about Christianity is something every one takes for granted. Free will. I am a Christian because I chose Christ as my savior. I was given the choice. I was told that it was my decision. BECAUSE EVERYTHING IS MY DECISION.

I believe in a God who is so amazing that He told me “ask, seek” My God encourages me to question. To find out who He is for myself and not from what some one told me He is and what I needed to believe.

The redemption of Christ hinges on free will.

Why are we selling ourselves short now? Why are we taking away something that God put into place in the very beginning?

Because its easier not to be responsible for our lives. For our decision.

There are patterns in our lives that develop as a result of our circumstances, and the choices we make in those circumstances. I am patterned to be attracted to asshole guys who make me feel oh so special and then treat me like crap. That is a predisposition in my life, but it is in no way a comment on my future. I get to decide that.

I hear a lot of people justify things (such as homosexuality) with the phrase “I was born this way”. It infuriates me. Simply because it takes away some one’s free will. Their ability to choose for themselves. That breaks my heart. And frankly I don’t understand it. In terms of sexual orientation I am vanilla white bread. Personal preference. I like men. (not to make me sound promiscuous because I’m not) and I don’t want to sound like a bigoted asshat either. If you are reading this and thinking “of course you feel this way about gay people you fundy Christian bitch” let me inform you that MY first physical (and yes, sexual) relationship was with a woman. And I initiated. Not because I wanted to see what it was like, because I genuinely cared for this person and was attracted to them. My second venture into sex was a two year long relationship with an emotionally abusive isolating d-bag. I will never walk those two paths again. I could though, I still think some women are exceptionally attractive and we’ve already discussed my predisposition to ass holes. But I have decided I don’t want those things in my life. I have made the choice to seek out something different. Its been a hard process, long and painful to try to redirect myself out of patterns I developed in my life. I lost people in the process, but I gained better. I decided to start seeing myself as powerful, beautiful, and worthy. I chose to walk in my power and my decisions. I am responsible for me. I get to decide to get off my ass and make my life the life I want, and I get to decide to sit down and stay stuck and blame it on every one else (doesn’t make it true, but I can still do that) I get to decide what I believe and how I perceive the things people tell me. Its all me! Its a huge responsibility, but DAMN its so freeing. because I know if I don’t like something, well I get to change it. I get to walk out of crappy relationships. I get to do things that make me happy. I get to surround myself with people who will encourage me and limit the ones who make me feel guilty.

We need to stop taking our own voices away and start owning up to the decisions we make. Because if you aren’t deciding for your life, who is?

2 thoughts on “Of Free Will and Redemption

  1. Pingback: Blog break 10: Free will | Random thoughts

  2. “I am a Christian because I chose Christ as my savior. I was given the choice. I was told that it was my decision.”

    Out of interest, are your parents Christians, and did you ever research any other religions before making this choice? If so, why didn’t these other belief systems appeal to you. How did you decide they were in error and Christianity was correct?

Leave a comment